Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Summer of Sushi

So after only two whopping days, I have failed BLOGust, just as I had BEDApril. O well, such is life. I'm hoping that a blog right now will semi make up for the one I missed.

A week ago I went out for sushi with the delightful couple of Sean and Katie. I really enjoyed the company and enjoyed the fair Big Tuna had to offer almost as much. Looking at the sushi chef, I did what I always do when I see someone cooking something tasty. "I could do that. And I bet I could do it better." Nasty habit, makes eating at restaurants difficult at times because I have such a pompous view of my extremely limited skills and complete lack of versatility. I eat at a mexican restaurant with Laura only to tell her I'm mad I hadn't made it all myself. Which leads me to my adventure today.




Today I made sushi for the first time. It was pretty exciting, no Big Tuna. But overall wasn't half bad, though I'm pretty sure I don't like California rolls now because imitation krab is funky as hell. It was good fun and I learned how to make some bombass sticky rice. But it also cost me about 20 bucks for all of the ingredients. Not the cheapest meal. But I have plenty of rice reagents and Nori left over which should make for some fun improvisations. But it also dawned on me that it's a pain in the ass to make sushi, and that I could not in fact, "Do that" and I failed miserably at the "Do it better". But of course for now I'll blame it on the fact that I was missing certain staples such as fresh crab, a wooden bowl for rice, a rice cooker and bamboo mats for rolling. So I guess the next step is to buy some of that junk and try it again.

So if any of my limited followers are interested. Let me know if you are down for a sushi night in the near future.

No comments:

Post a Comment